About the COI Committee

The Conflict of Interest Committee:

The University has convened a committee of academics and administrators from across the university to provide guidance on issues related to Policy SC3.

The committee:

  • assesses disclosures and issues brought forward by the University
  • audits a percentage of declarations submitted each year
  • serves as the final avenue for appeal for decisions related to Conflicts of Interest

Committee Membership 2022-23

Bill Holder (CHAIR)
Carlos Teixeira, Professor, Community, Culture, and Global Studies, Irving K. Barber School of Arts & Sciences
Chris Lovato, Vice-Dean, Academic, Faculty of Medicine
Dominique Weis, Professor, Earth, Ocean, and Atmospheric Sciences, Faculty of Science
Jessie Li, Assistant Director, Fraud Risk Management, Enterprise Risk and Assurance
Laura Patterson, Associate Professor of Teaching, School of Engineering Sciences, UBC Okanagan
Laurel Evans, Director, Research Ethics
Lisanne Boone, Industry Contracts Manager, University-Industry Liaison Office
Mary MacDougall, Dean, Faculty of Dentistry
Michael Anthony Hunt, Senior Associate Dean, Policy and Programs, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
Murray Carlson, Senior Associate Dean, Partnerships and Community Outreach, Sauder School of Business
Rosemary Redfield, Professor Emerita, Zoology, Faculty of Science
Shanda Jordan Gaetz, Managing Director, Faculty of Medicine

If you have any questions about the Conflict of Interest Committee, please contact the Conflict of Interest Administrator at conflict.of.interest@ubc.ca or 604-822-8623.